Railways to switch to five digit numbers for trains

Sunday, December 19, 2010

NEW DELHI - All passenger trains will move to a five-digit numbering system from Monday in place of the existing four-digit system, giving each train a unique indentifiable number, the railways ministry said Sunday.

According to a ministry statement, the new numbering system will be more scientific, logical, uniform and computer-friendly and “will go a long way in monitoring the movement of trains more effectively on an all India basis and in facilitating dissemination and management of train information more scientifically, benefiting the public”.

The existing number system was exhausted with more than 10,000 trains running every day.

“This major initiative will create a unique ‘train number’ which will be a national level identity for each train and will cover all the passenger carrying trains running in the Indian Railways network,” said the ministry in a statement.

The new system will also help integrate the passenger and suburban train services in various information systems such as passenger reservation systems and other software applications.

All the numbers will be converted to the new five-digit system by simply prefixing ‘1′ to the existing four-digit numbers.

The new system will cover all scheduled and regular express, mail and superfast trains, including the Durontos, Yuva Trains, Rajdhani Express, Shatabdi Express, Jan Shatabdi Express, Garibrath Express, Sampark Kranti Express and all such category of trains that have a mail or express character during any part of their journey.

The names of the trains will, however, not be changed.

Special trains run to clear holiday rush shall have the prefix ‘0′. This shall apply to all special trains, whether superfast, express or passenger train in character, running between any pair of destinations.

Filed under: Economy

will not be displayed